1977 T.M. Fleming, H.A. Compton (Whg)

1978 T.G. Bateman, J.R. Calder (Ken)

1979 R.W. Stewart, C.M. Arneil (Whg)

1980 W. Williams, P.T. Moloughney

1981 C.M. Wilson, M.C. Smith (RSA)

1982 J.P. Norman, W.W. Edgar (Whg)

1983 R.W. Stewart, C.M. Arneil (Whg)

1984 K.G. Walker, K.J. Huxtable (Whg)

1985 E.G. Burnard, D.J. Holwell (Whg)

1986 W.B. Gold, H.W. Neal (Whg)

1987 C.R. Collinson, A.L. Fry (One)

1988 D.F. Cains, D.A. Hilliard (Whg)

1989 W.G. Atkins, H.J.S. Cathcart (Ken)

1990 C.F. Spence, R.J. Mayall (One)

1991 G.D. Bond, J.L. Dunn (One)

1992 M.G. Houlahan, D.J. Holwell (Whg)

1993 G.D. Bond, J.L. Dunn (One)

1994 R.J. Mayall, H.P. Fidler (Comp)

1995 H.P. Fidler, R.J. Mayall (One)

1996 J.B. Wilson, T.O. Chapman (Whg)

1997 D.W. Chapman, W.G. Hughes (Whg)

1998 D.H. White, M.G. Houlahan (Whg)

1999 R. Bowmar, J.M. Le Prou (Comp)

2000 S. Prasad, T.G. Reader (Whg)

2001 J.M. Le Prou, R. Bowmar (Whg)

2002 S. Nelson, M.J. Butler (Comp)

2003 R. Whaikawa, G. O'Neill (One)

2004 S. Nelson, M.J. Butler (Kens)

2005 S. Prasad, T.G. Reader (Whg)

2006 S. Mitchell, J. Thorburn (Kens)

2007 L.S. Reader, T.O. Chapman (Whg)

2008 L.S. Reader, T.O. Chapman (Whg)

2009 G.R. Whitham, J.A. Jamieson (Whg)

2010 P. Nicholas, S. Nelson (Kens)

2011 P. Nicholas, S. Nelson (Kens)

2012 L.M. Thorburn, R.V. Sowerby (Kens)

2013 E. Pattillo, L.M. Thorburn (Kens)

1940 R.H. Taylor, T. Walder (Ken)

1941 P. Searle, J. Vodanovich (Dar)

1942 R. Smith, G.W. Wilding (Whg)

1943 D. Rumbal, J. Marwick (Whg)

1944 A.L. Lambess, M.F.M. Whitelaw (Whg)

1945 J. Johnston (J), J. Johnston (S) (Whg)

1946 P. Searle, J. Vodanovich (Dar)

1947 E.R. Wooledge, G.W. Wilding (Whg)

1948 E.M. O’Callaghan, J. Scott (Hik)

1949 J. Roos, E. MacNay, (Whg)

1950 T. Brewis, B. Taylor (Whg)

1951 H. Kelly, P. Searle (Dar)

1952 R. Boag, C. Jenkins (Ken)

1953 J. Roos, E. MacNay (Whg)

1954 T. Gillibrand, T. Weir (Whg)

1955 T. Gillibrand, T. Weir (Whg)

1956 C.A. Doel, H.V. Reed (Ken)

1957 K.O. Potter, V.M. Edge (Mpe)

1958 D.F. McLeod, V. Viscoe (Ken)

1959 S. Wilson, H.V. Reed (Ken)

1960 C.J. Hawkins, O. Georgeson (Ken)

1961 F. Croft, A.V. Crump (Hik)

1962 A.J. Waterworth, J. Roos (Whg)

1963 H.D. Ashcroft, B.D.H. Ross (Whg)

1964 F. Jones, P.J. Wilson (Whg)

1965 A.A. Chaston, M.F.M. Whitelaw (Whg)

1966 L.W.D. Munn, R. Maddock (RSA)

1967 R.J. Ace, G.R. Ace (Ken)

1968 J.B. Wilson, S.D.F. Budge (Whg)

1969 F.J. Marinkovich, E.S. Ross (Ken)

1970 V.M. Edge, C. Campi (Ken)

1971 A.V. Crump, S.E. Weston (RSA)

1972 L.W.D. Munn, A.J. Waterworth (RSA)

1973 H.V. Reed, D.J. Ace (Ken)

1974 D.J. Holwell, C.E. Earle (Whg)

1975 G. Brandso, H.J. Murdoch (Whg)

1976 H.D. Ashcroft, L.C. Dudeck (Whg)


Doel Open Pairs

The Doel Trophies were presented by Herbert and Cyril Doel in February 1940 for Open Pairs Competition. They had a grocers shop on the corner of Bernard Street and Maunu Road at that time.

In the 70s and 80s this was the largest tournament in the north attracting in excess of 70 teams.

Today it is played under the popular 2x4x2 format and is restricted to 32 teams.

Bowls Whangarei